Reviews Zone

Georgia Satellites: Ultimate (Lemon Records/Cherry Red) Out now




4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5)




This new triple disc set offers up Georgia Satellites’ output while on the Elektra label between 1986 and 1989 – with 13 tracks appearing on CD for the first time in the UK.

They released three studio albums and various singles on Elektra that feature on this collection, plus the related bonus tracks taken from the band’s B-sides and 12” releases. 54 tracks here.

The first disc features the 10 original album tracks from the band’s debut studio album “Georgia Satellites”, which was released in 1986 and produced by Jeff Glixman.

In this set there are eight bonus tracks, including two mixes: Party Mix and Kick ‘N’ Lick Remix of the single “Battleship Chains”. Plus five live tracks, including the band’s cover of Lou Reed’s “I’m Waiting For The Man”, the B-side of the band’s best known single, “Keep Your Hands To Yourself”.

Disc two here focuses on the band’s second album, “Open All Night”, with the 11 original album tracks, plus six related bonus tracks includings the remix of their single, “Sheila”, along with live recordings of “Let It Rock”, “Battleship Chains” and “Railroad Steel”.

The third CD here offers up the band’s final Elektra album, “In The Land Of Salvation And Sin” from 1989, produced by Joe Hardy and features the 14 original album tracks, plus five bonus offerings.

Including the B-sides, “Saddle Up” and “That Woman”, the US promo’ edit’ versions of “Shake That Thing” and “All Over But The Cryin’”, and the UK single version of “Another Chance”.

This  set is released with the full cooperation of the band. There are extensive sleeve notes contributions by each of the original band members: Dan Baird, Mauro Magellan, Rick Price and Rick Richards, plus a UK discography. The band also supplied photographs from their own collections for inclusion within the CD booklet.

Georgia Satellites hail from Atlanta, Georgia and signed to Elektra Records in 1986, to cut their first album with Jeff Glixman. Their first single, “Keep Your Hands To Yourself”, the opener of the debut album and this box set, was a big hit, peaking at second spot on the US Billboard chart.

After three Elektra studio albums for Elektra, Dan Baird left to pursue a solo career. The band continued with numerous changes of personnel. Original member Rick Richards leads the current line-up of the band on the road.


By Graham Morrison



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’





Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.