Reviews Zone

Fraternity: Seasons of Change – The Complete Recordings 1970-1974 (Cherry Red/Lemon) Out now



3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5)



AC/DC fans will probably not need an introduction to Aussie rock band Fraternity – with the early 1970s down-under band boasting lead singer Bon Scott before he joined the global rock act.

But Bon Scott’s time with Fraternity has actually been poorly documented on the reissue market.

Of the two albums the band had issued at the time, “Livestock” and “Flaming Galah”, neither album has been released officially.

Half a century later, this three-disc “Seasons Of Change” aims to right that wrong, offering up 45 tracks in total.

Curated in conjunction with surviving band members (Bruce Howe, John Freeman, Sam See, John Bisset, Uncle John Eyers and the Estate of Mick Jurd) and their original manager Hamish Henry, this bumper set offers Fraternity’s complete recorded output.

It includes both their albums from 1971 and 1972, originally issued on Sweet Peach and RCA respectively, utilising the original master tapes and best possible remastering sources, while also adding all relevant non-album singles – A’s and B’s sides – and EP tracks.

Bonus tracks feature Fraternity backing The Valentines’ Vince Lovegrove and their victory at the National Battle Of The Sounds competition, where they claimed the title of Australia’s No. 1 band.

In addition, research by Victor Marshall for this package uncovered the long-lost Hamish Henry cache of session tapes, now curated into Fraternity’s third album “Second Chance”.

“Second Chance” also features live tracks recorded at Pt Lincoln, South Australia as part of their ‘Country Arts Tour’, and unheard songs including vocals and song writing contributions from Bon Scott.

Artist Vytas Serelis, designer of the ‘Flaming Galah’ cover, returns with original cover artwork for “Second Chance”.

Musically, from their base in Aldgate, South Australia, Fraternity ran the gamut of musical styles on the rock scene at the dawn of the 1970s, from proto-heavy metal to country and soft rock, progressive music and a smattering of earlier psychedelia.

The set gives us 14, 15 and 16 cuts across the three discs, and comes complete with 18,000 words for the sleeve-notes, and unseen photos of the band from The Grape Organisation, who have worked in conjunction with Cherry Red’s Lemon label to create this new 50th Anniversary collection.



By Graham Morrison



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’



Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.