News Zone Reviews Zone

Rossi Rickard: We Talk Too Much (earMUSIC) Vinyl LP – 3rd May 2024



4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5)



Think you have Quo’s Francis Rossi sussed? Think again! You may not know that his love of country and roots music is just as passionate as his penchant to rock out in one of the worlds’s most legendary bands these past 57 years.

Which will be confirmed by a listen to this charming set of a dozen original songs – plus a bonus track – on “We Talk Too Much”, his collaborative debut with UK musician Hannah Rickard.

Originally released in 2019, the projects gets its debut vinyl release on 3rd May 2025 on earMusic – and if, like me, you loved the Robert Plant and Alison Krauss 2007 album “Raising Sand”, then this is definitely for you. A similar chemistry between both pairs.

Francis and Hanna’s vocals intertwine snugly across these duets, and she adds much value with her violin skills; while Francis ably twangs away on the Telecaster to give the record that authentic Americana flavour.

This album added another chapter to Francis’ incredibly successful career; “We Talk Too Much’ was his highest charting solo release so far – top spot in the country album chart in the UK and also # one in the independent album ‘breakers’ chart.

The pair met when Hannah worked with Status Quo on the hugely successful ‘Aquostic’ projects. Reconnecting with one of Rossi’s true loves, this is a collection of country-flavoured duets, all of them exclusive to this release. “We Talk Too Much” boasts writing credits for Rossi and Rickard, as well as Quo stalwart Bob Young, and has been a true labour of love for the Quo man.


LP Side A:

01. I’ll Take You Home
02. I’ve Tried Letting It Go
03. Oughta Know By Now
04. But I Just Said Goodbye
05. Waiting For Jesus
06. I’m Only Happy

LP Side B:

01. Rearrange
02. I Talk Too Much
03. Heartbreaker
04. Good Times Bad Times
05. Sinking In Blue
06. Maybe Tomorrow
07. Broken Memory – Bonus Track



Francis said of the impending release, “It is great that ‘We Talk Too Much’ is getting a vinyl release. It looks fantastic. This album is close to my heart, it’s a different kind of sound to what I do with Quo, but I love this music. ‘Broken Memory’ also deserves to see the light of day, so I am glad we’ve been able to include that as an extra”.

An important record within Francis Rossi’s catalogue, ‘We Talk Too Much’ shows not only his versatility, but also something of the man himself. By teaming up with Hannah Rickard, a truly special album was created, one that is suitably celebrated on this vinyl edition.

The same year this album first came out [2019], Francis released his autobiography “I Talk Too Much” (published by Little, Brown and penned with Mick Wall), as well as undertaking a 36-date spoken word tour of the UK of the same name.

In his explosive memoir, the famously indiscreet Rossi reveals the true-life stories behind his unbelievable career. Painfully honest at times, the book covers the glory years, the dark days, the ups and downs of his relationship with the late Rick Parfitt and the real stories behind the creation of some of the greatest rock music of all time.



  • “We Talk Too Much’” is issued on 180g Black Vinyl, packed in a premium-quality gatefold jacket – featuring the previously unreleased bonus track, “Broken Memory”. Thr album is also on CD and digital.




Words: Steve Best

Photos: James Eckersley



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’





Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.