Reviews Zone

Dynasty: 4 Classic Albums On 3 CDs (Robinsongs) Out now



3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5)



Four albums by Solar recording artists Dynasty – plus bonus 7” versions of their biggest hits.

The Albums “Your Piece Of The Rock”, and “Adventures In The Land Of Music”, take up the 13 tracks on disc # one.

The second disc offers up “The Second Adventure” and ‘seven cuts from their album, “Right Back At Cha!”.

The remaining three tracks from “Right back At Cha!”, can be found on disc # three – plus the eight bonus tracks.

These three albums cover a period from 1979 through to 1988 when the L.A.-created band were key to the success of Solar Records.

Put together by producer and label head Dick Griffey, and record producer Leon Sylvers III, the band was completed by keyboardist Kevin Spencer and vocalists Nidra Beard and Linda Carriere.

The “Your Piece Of The Rock” album features the full length 7:20 version of “I Don’t Want To Be A Freak (But I Can’t Help Myself)”, a club classic from 1979.

“Adventures In The Land Of Music” includes their Top 10 r&b hit “I’ve Just Begun To Love You”, as well as the cool album title track

Dynasty followed that in 1981 with “The Second Adventure” album and the single “Here I Am”.

The album also featured the r&b charting “Love In The Fast Lane”.

“Right Back At Cha!” followed in 1982, featuring a host of dance tracks including “Check It Out” and “Strokin”.

There are 41 tracks here, as a decent reminder of this band’s mastering of the groove and how to fill advance floor back in the late 70s and through the 80s.


By Christopher Weston



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’




Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.