News Zone Video Zone

Gov’t Mule Drop Delicious Junior Wells Cover: Snatch It Back And Hold It!



Warren Haynes and his killer US band Gov’t Mule have made a blues album – and they now release a red hot single from the set: Junior Well’s classic “Snatch It Back And Hold It”.

Their new album “Heavy Load Blues” will see the light of day on 12th November via Fantasy Records.

Renowned quartet Gov’t Mule is fronted by Grammy-winning vocalist, songwriter, guitar legend, and producer Warren Haynes – who has played in The Allman Brothers Band and The Dead.

“Heavy Load Blues”, offers up an even mix of Haynes’ originals and revered covers originally made famous by the likes of Howlin’ Wolf, Elmore James, Ann Peebles, Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland, Tom Waits and the Animals.

A deluxe edition featuring additional studio and live tracks, including another Haynes original and covers originally by Savoy Brown, Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters, Otis Rush and more, will also be available.

Gov’t Mule has also announced two very special back-to-back shows in the US during Halloween weekend this October.

The band will perform Heavy Load Blues in its entirety for the first time on October 29th along with other surprises, and then on Saturday, October 30th will celebrate the return of their annual Mule-O-Ween show with special guests Charlie Starr (Blackberry Smoke) and Paul Riddle (Marshall Tucker Band).

Though technically considered a studio album, Heavy Load Blues was recorded live in the studio at The Power Station New England on analog tape, utilizing vintage guitars, amps and other equipment to capture an authentic sound.

The 13-track album was produced by Haynes alongside engineer and co-producer John Paterno (Michael Landau, Robbie Williams, The Steve Gadd Band).  First single taken from the album was “Heavy Load”.

Gov’t Mules is Warren Haynes, Matt Abts [drums], Danny Louis [keyboards, guitar, and backing vocals], and Jorgen Carlsson [bass] and they have notched up more than 20 studio and live albums, thousands of memorable performances and millions of album and track sales.

Coming up later this winter, the band returns to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort in Runaway Bay, Jamaica for Island Exodus 12, the ultimate “concert-cation” experience from January 16th – 20th, 2022.

Hosted by Gov’t Mule, who will perform three full two-set shows, and Warren Haynes, offering his unique, interactive ‘Q and Play’ set, a hybrid concert performance and storytelling session, the multi-day experience will also feature intimate beachfront concerts from Dawes and The War and Treaty.

They will perform multiple sets, and special guest Ron Holloway will present an extended afternoon ‘Sax On The Beach’ set. Attendees arriving early for Exodus Eve on January 15th will see ‘RoHo’ part of Melvin Seals & JGB + Ron Holloway’s ‘Legion of Melvin’ show.

Visit for more info and ticketing details.



1. Blues Before Sunrise
2. Hole In My Soul
3. Wake Up Dead
4. Love Is A Mean Old World
5. Snatch It Back and Hold It – Hold It Back – Snatch It Back and Hold It
6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
7. (Brother Bill) Last Clean Shirt
8. Make It Rain
9. Heavy Load
10. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home (short version)
11. If Heartaches Were Nickels
12. I Asked Her For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
13. Black Horizon


1. Hiding Place
2. You Know My Love
3. Street Corner Talking
4. Have Mercy On The Criminal
5. Long Distance Call
6. Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody’s Home
7. Need Your Love So Bad
8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl



Photo credit: Jay Sansone



Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.