Reviews Zone

Chris Young: Famous Friends (RCA/Sony) Out now…


4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5)



Country star Chris Young should not need introduction, having clocked up circa five billion career streams and eleven US #1 singles, thus far.

Yes, multi-platinum RCA Records Nashville entertainer Young has accumulated an uber-impressive list of accomplishments, including membership in the iconic Grand Ole Opry, 13 Million singles sold, 11 career #1 singles, 21 R.I.A.A. Gold/Platinum/Multi-Platinum certified projects, two Grammy nominations, three Country Music Association nominations and four Academy of Country Music nominations. He won the gong for Performance of the Year at 2020’s CMT Music Awards.

These accomplishments landed him in the Top 20 of Billboard’s top country artists of the decade. Chris is an international ambassador for country music, performing to capacity crowds around the world. With a hit-packed set that highlights his eleven chart-toppers, including back-to-back #1s “Losing Sleep,” “Sober Saturday Night,” “Think Of You,” and “I’m Comin’ Over”. His 2019 headlining tour played to more than 400,000 fans in three countries.

Chris’ recent single, “Famous Friends” with Kane Brown, took home the trophy for Collaborative Video of the Year at the 2021 CMT Music Awards, is Top 5 and rising and impacted country radio as the most-added new track at the start of the year. The infectious title track will lead

His star continues on the ascent with the release of his super duper eight studio album, “Famous Friends”, following back-to-back # 1 US Billboard Top Country Albums, “Losing Sleep” and “I’m Comin’ Over”.

Led by the #1 title track with Kane Brown, the 14-song project features several more of Chris’s famous friends, including collaborations with Lauren Alaina and Mitchell Tenpenny, plus background vocals from Sarah Buxton, Hillary Lindsey and Shay Mooney.

“I know I’ve said it before, but I honestly can’t say it enough – I am so excited to be releasing my new album,” shared Chris. “There are so many incredibly talented artists, songwriters and producers – all friends of mine – who helped make this album possible. Having friends share their talents as collaborators, songwriters, producers and more, it’s only natural to call the album ‘Famous Friends.’ ”

In addition to “Raised On Country,” “Drowning,” “Town Ain’t Big Enough” and the infectious “Famous Friends , is his new song “Rescue Me”, which Chris says “such a cool twist on the typical love song concept”. Written with Josh Hoge, Mark Holman, Matthew McGinn and Christian Davis Stalnecker, one of 13 tracks Chris had a hand in writing on the new record.

While the album’s final track, “Tonight We’re Dancing,” is produced solely by Chris, continuing the theme of the new record, he co-produced the remaining 13 of 14 songs along with several more of his famous friends, Corey Crowder, Chris DeStefano and Mark Holman.

“I want people to fall in love with it, blow their speakers listening to it, dance to it, party along with it, cry to it, just live it – and I can’t wait to start playing this new music on the road soon” declared Chris.

I think maybe his wish will come true then, based on the strength of these songs and the quality of the performances and production.

There have been far too many “same-old, same old”, Nashville conveyor belt, dull and predictable recordings churned out in recent times, and tediously it all sounds the same. Thank goodness for Chris Young and this excellent, feel-good album………………


By Graham Morrison




1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone






Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.