Reviews Zone

The Members: Greatest Hits – all the singles (AngloCentric/Cadiz Music ) 1st December 2017



5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5)




This is a first. All the band’s singles from the 1970s, 80s and 90s collected together on one 18-track album.

Ohh, and a brand new track too, a single topically titled, “Smartphone Junkie”, from a band who have been doing their thing for 40 years, since their first gig at the legendary Roxy club in London in 1977.

The British band has scored hits on three different continents; working with some of the greatest British producers, they have recorded  songs that have become anthems.

They have recorded for Beggars Banquet, Stiff, Virgin, Island, Genetic, Arista, Cleopatra, Anglocentric and Cadiz Music. They have been signed by Dave Robinson, Richard Branson, Clive Davis, Martin Rushent and Richard England.

Never before has all the band’s significant records been collected together on one compilation. Known for the punk era hits in the UK, The members had far-reaching hits all over the world. The band’s YouTube channel gets 20,000+ monthly plays today. The current line-up tours globally and continues to record and release records.

In the USA they are known for the 1980s smash hit, “Working Girl” – also a big hit in Australia, where another 80s track, “Radio” made the number one spot. In the UK, their biggest single hit was the opener of this set, “The Sound Of The Suburbs”, which peaked at # 12 in the UK singles chart in 1979.  It’s what us music writers call “a timeless track”.

After many years of negotiations, this impressive body of work is finally being made available in the UK on vinyl and CD. 13 tracks on the vinyl version and a bumper 18 tracks on the CD. Artwork by original Members sleeve designer Malcolm Garrett.

The band formed in 1976, played their first gigs in London and had a knack for bringing together the urgency of punk with short pop songs, a smattering of reggae and all the while; telling real-life stories.

Because they recorded for so many different record labels, there was a major issue in getting all relevant parties and owners of the original recordings to sanction the release of all the singles on one album. The tracks have all been re-mastered and the audio quality is spot on.

The cast list for this band is, as follows: Nick Tesco, Jean-marie “JC” Carroll, Chris Payne, Nigel Bennett, Adrian Lillywhite, Nick Cash, Rudi Thomson, Simon Lloyd, Rat Scabies (The Damned drummer) and Calle Engelmarc. Take a bow lads…


By Simon Redley





1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’





Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.