Reviews Zone

Kenny Loggins: Alive (Retroworld / Floating World Records) 19th January 2018



3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5)





Kenny Loggins is an American singer-songwriter and guitarist.  His early songwriting compositions were recorded with the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band in 1970, which led to seven albums performing with former Buffalo Springfield bass player Jim Messina, from 1972 to 1977.

Before working with Messina, he was a successful singer-songwriter, and following the split with Messina, he had a string of top-selling solo albums. He won a Grammy for co-writing “What a Fool Believes” with Michael McDonald; who had a number one hit with the song for The Doobie  Brothers.

As a solo artist, Loggins had a string of hit songs for film soundtracks,  including an Academy Award nomination for the theme to the smash hit film starring Kevin Bacon, “Footloose” in 1984. Loggins went on to form the group Blue Sky Riders, with Gary Burr and Georgia Middleman, releasing their album “Finally Home” in 2013.

This in concert double album, was released in 1980, pre-dating his biggest UK hit, “Footloose”. This record contains material from Loggins’ three previous solo albums, as well as a previously unreleased song “All Alone Tonight”, “I’m Alright” (the theme from Caddyshack) and a cover of The Beatles “Here There and Everywhere”.

It does feature his versions of “What A Fool Believes” and “I Believe In Love”, a smash hit for superstar Barbra Streisand. It’s an enjoyable 96 minutes of live in-concert action -18 cuts, (8 + 10) – that boasts solid performances and a strong set list that will please casual and hardcore fans alike.


“I Believe in Love”, “Whenever I Call You ‘Friend”, “Wait a Little While”, “Why Do People Lie”, “What a Fool Believes”, “Junkanoo Holiday (Fallin’-Flyin’)”, “I’m Alright”, “Celebrate Me Home”, “You Don’t Know Me”, “Now and Then”, “All Alone Tonight”, “Here, There and Everywhere”, “Angelique”, “Love Has Come of Age”, “This Is It”, “Down ‘N’ Dirty”, “Easy Driver”, “Keep the Fire”.



By Sally Fox





1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’








Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.