Reviews Zone

Unicorn: Too Many Crooks (Esoteric Recordings) 31st March 2107



3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5)




Newly re-mastered edition of “Too Many Crooks”, the 1976 album by Unicorn. Featuring a line-up of Ken Baker (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Pete Perryer (drums, vocals), Pat Martin (bass, vocals) and Kevin Smith (lead guitar, mandolin).

“Too Many Crooks” was Unicorn’s first for EMI’s Harvest label, and was produced by David Gilmour of Pink Floyd, who also featured on pedal steel guitar and guitar on several tracks.

This new re-mastered edition features the original 10 album tracks plus six bonus tracks; including four previously unreleased songs recorded live in the studio in 1975 for radio promotional use, “So Far Away” (an out-take from the album recording sessions) and the single version of “Disco Dancer”.

The booklet features a new essay featuring an interview with Pat Martin, and fully restores the original Hipgnosis album artwork.


By Jon Donovan



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’



Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.