News Zone

April Release For Country Legend Willie Nelson’s All Originals New Album

Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release “God’s Problem Child”, Willie Nelson’s ninth  studio album for the label, on Friday 28th April.  An album of all-new recordings, “God’s Problem Child” adds 13 new songs to the artist’s repertoire, including seven recently written by Willie and Buddy Cannon, his long-time collaborator and producer. The album is Willie’s first to debut all-new songs since “Band of Brothers” reached #1 on the Billboard Country chart and #5 on the Billboard chart in 2014.

His album “Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin” is currently in the running for a Grammy Award in the Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album category. The album debuted at #1 on both the Top Current Jazz chart and the Top Traditional Jazz chart following its release in February 2016.  Nelson has won 11 Grammy awards over the course of his career.

“God’s Problem Child”, available on CD, 12″ vinyl LP or digitally, arrives just in time for Willie’s 84th birthday (29th April).  The title track, penned by Jamey Johnson and Tony Joe White, includes vocals by both writers and the legendary Leon Russell (on what may be Russell’s very last recording).  An old friend and musical cohort, Leon was the first person to put his signature on “Trigger,” Willie’s famed guitar.

An album that reflects on mortality while marvelling at the beauty and absurdity of it all, God’s Problem Child finds Willie Nelson at one of the creative peaks of his career, writing and singing with the seasoned wit and wisdom that can only come from the kind of life he’s living. One of Willie’s new songs, “Still Not Dead” pokes fun at the many exaggerated reports of his demise he’s heard over the years, while “Delete and Fast-Forward” is Willie’s unabashed analysis of the 2016 United States elections and how to deal with the aftermath.

“God’s Problem Child” opens with Willie’s performance of “Little House On The Hill”, a song written by Lyndel Rhodes, Buddy Cannon’s 92-year-old mother. In  October 2016, a video of Lyndel hearing Willie singing her song for the first time, became an internet viral sensation.

In keeping with the album’s subtext of memory and mortality, the new record closes with “He Won’t Ever Be Gone,” a song written by Gary Nicholson that pays tribute to Willie’s outlaw country comrade, Merle Haggard. Haggard’s last album was 2015’s “Django and Jimmie”, a musical collaboration with Willie Nelson.

Willie Nelson continues to make music every day.  When he’s not in the studio, Willie’s on the road; performing more than 100 live shows in the past year including Farm Aid, the 4th of July Picnic, the ACL Festival, the First Outlaw Festival and many more.


  1. Little House On The Hill (Lyndel Rhodes)
  2. Old Timer (Donnie Fritz / Lenny LeBlanc)
  3. True Love (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  4. Delete And Fast Forward (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  5. A Woman’s Love (Mike Reid / Sam Hunter)
  6. Your Memory Has A Mind Of Its Own (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  7. Butterfly (Sonny Throckmorton / Mark Sherrill)
  8. Still Not Dead (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  9. God’s Problem Child (Jamey Johnson / Tony Joe White)
  10. It Gets Easier (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  11. Lady Luck (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  12. I Made A Mistake (Willie Nelson / Buddy Cannon)
  13. He Won’t Ever Be Gone (Gary Nicholson)


In February 2012, Willie Nelson entered into an historic new record deal with Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, marking a label homecoming for Nelson, who, from 1975-1993, had cut a phenomenal string of top-selling singles and albums for Columbia Records, beginning with 1975’s seminal smash “Red Headed Stranger”.

New titles by the artist under the Legacy imprint include newly recorded songs and performances, as well as archival releases, personally curated by the artist, drawn from all phases of his career including his recordings for RCA Records and others. Since signing with Legacy, Willie Nelson has sold more than a million albums for the label.

His album releases for Legacy Recordings have included:

For The Good Times: A Tribute To Ray Price (2016)

Summertime:Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin (2016)

Django and Jimmie (2015)

December Day: Willie’s Stash, Vol. 1 (2014)

Band of Brothers (2014)

To All The Girls… (2013)

Let’s Face The Music And Dance (2013)

Heroes (2012)



Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.