News Zone

Procul Harum: First New Studio Album For 14 Years

Photo credit: Alex Asprey

On 21st April 2017, Eagle Records release “Novum”, the brand new studio album by Procol Harum, on CD and 2LP . Procol Harum’s thirteenth studio album, and their first for fourteen years – following “The Well’s On Fire” in 2003.

“Novum” is released in the band’s fiftieth anniversary year, which also sees the band undertake a very special UK and European tour. The album release is preceded by that of the single “Sunday Morning” on April 7th.

“Novum” features a stunning cover artwork by Julia Brown, which references elements of the sleeve of the band’s eponymous debut album in 1967. With that album, half a century ago, powered by the huge and ongoing success of their debut single “A Whiter Shade Of Pale”, Procol Harum went on to help define the progressive rock genre in the early seventies whilst at the same time embracing their roots in blues and soul.

“A Whiter Shade Of Pale” continues to be one of the best-selling singles of all time, one of the most recognisable and most played songs – ever.   Procol Harum has been an evolving musical force from the first performance in ’67, but always led by founding member, singer, pianist and composer Gary Brooker.

Most of today’s line-up has been playing together since the early ‘90s and it includes bassist Matt Pegg (Jethro Tull, Ian Brown), drummer Geoff Dunn (Jimmy Page, Dave Stewart, Van Morrison), guitarist Geoff Whitehorn (Roger Chapman, Paul Rodgers, Roger Daltrey) and Hammond organ player Josh Phillips (Pete Townsend and Midge Ure).

Gary Brooker said, “Our last studio album was in 2003, and with 2017 being 50 years of Procol Harum, something special was needed, which has resulted in a new album of new songs with the band as we’ve stood for the past decade, all contributing with producer Dennis Weinreich to make what I believe to be one of the finest Procol Harum albums ever – “Novum” – just listen.”   “Novum” sees a new direction for Procol Harum, with the songs being written and created by the whole band, with most songs featuring words by Pete Brown, most famous for his songwriting collaboration with the members of Cream.

This has given a different feel to the songs, retaining the thought provoking content for which the band has always been known but with a different slant and elements of humour.   
 “Novum” marks not only fifty years of making music, but also the next step for this seminal band. As ever, the music and musicianship within the band is of the highest level and this long-awaited collection of brand new songs is sure to be welcomed by Procol Harum’s devoted fan-base.

TRACKLISTING:  1 I Told on you / 2 Last Chance Motel / 3 Image of the Beast / 4 Soldier / 5 Don’t Get Caught / 6 Neighbour / 7 Sunday Morning / 8 Businessman / 9 Can’t Say That / 10 The Only One / 11 Somewhen

2017 UK Tour Dates

3 March:   Royal Festival Hall with Orchestra [SOLD OUT]

6 May:       Edinburgh Queen’s Hall

8 May:       Manchester Bridgewater Hall

10 May:     Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

11 May:      Birmingham Town Hall

13 May:     Shepherds Bush Empire

14 May:     Nottingham Concert Hall

16 May:     Bristol Colston Hall






Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.