Video Zone

New Portals release ‘WinterSkin’ video and FVRY remix

New Portals have released a lyric video for their new single ‘WinterSkin’. The song finds the pair evoking seasonal chills, with big rolling synths and dark bass rumbles.

Their icy key chimes reverberate against a montage of 70s footage featuring intrepid mountaineers battling the elements. The new single rounds off a year that has seen a string of stunning songs from New Portals, including “Cage,” “Stay Here Tonight,” “Groove Boy,” and “Skyline.” The tracks have seen the band become one of the most promising and highly acclaimed new acts to come from Ireland today.

The Belfast duo have teamed up with fellow Northern Ireland production extraordinaire FVRY for the remix of ‘WinterSkin’, released (Dec 9th through Hope & Fury Records. Leading with lulling glittering keys, FVRY incorporates a driving beat and spun out synths that roll among choppy breaks to deliver a spaced out remix for the headiest of dancefloors.

Throughout 2016, New Portals have had big support from Radio 1, with Phil Taggart and Huw Stephens particularly big champions of the band. They’ve also become a key feature in the soundtrack for the recently released feature film She Has A Name, of which the band provided three songs including ‘Skyline’, ‘Cage’ and ‘Forget You, Forget Me’.

New Portals have also been announced to play SXSW 2017, which marks the first of many more exciting announcements for the band on both sides of the Atlantic next year.

“One of the finest R&B-tinged male-female duos we’ve heard since Aluna George” – The Guardian

“[New Portals] tracks should definitely be on your weekend playlist” – Missguided

“They’re certainly ones to watch” – Pretty 52

“Ireland’s hottest new artists” – 1883


Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.