Reviews Zone

Tokyo Blade: Fury (Dissonance Productions) Out now



5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5)



British heavy metal stars Tokyo Blade return with a brand new album – follow-up to 2020’s acclaimed album “Dark Revolution”.

Joining forces with Dissonance for their 2020 album, the 2022 long player sees band leader Andy Boulton leading the charge with 15 new tracks of classic melodic metal, topped with the anthemic vocals of Alan Marsh.

Hailing from Wiltshire and formed in 1982, Tokyo Blade were initially considered part of the NWOBHM scene, but quickly outgrew the tag, enduring over the course of 12 studio albums and five Eps.

Producing early classics such as their self-titled debut and follow up “Night Of The Blade”, the band went through multiple line-up changes over the years, but continued to enjoy the support of the metal community and fans across the globe.

The 15 tracks on the new album were penned during lockdown isolation, and recorded soon after.

Andy Boulton has the last word: “Despite the struggles we have faced to keep Tokyo Blade alive, music is our driving force, we enjoyed writing and recording it and we sincerely hope you enjoy it”.

Methinks his hopes will not be in vain. Excellent set of metal cuts from “The Blade” (see what I did there?)

The album never wanes in power and quality from the opener “Man In A Box” through standouts such as “Disposable Me”, “Heart Of Darkness” and “Static”, to the closer “When The Bullets Fly”.


By Sally Fox



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’




Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.