Reviews Zone

Oi! The Albums: Vol 2: Various Artists (Captain Oi!) Out now



4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5)



Never mind Easter eggs and chocolates for the punk music lover in your life this year. Grab ‘em a copy of this and they’ll thank you very much – and they’ll also avoid getting fat and losing their teeth with too much sugar.

A bumper 102 tracks on seven CDs in this marvellous box set which focuses on the Oi! compilation albums issued on the legendary street punk label Link Records between 1987 and 1993.

This set features all the usual suspects, and more…including the biggest names associated with the scene, such as Cockney Rejects, Angelic Upstarts, The Business, Cock Sparrer, Slaughter & The Dogs, Sham 69, Blitz, The 4 Skins, The Crack, Menace, Judge Dread, The Oppressed and many more.

This set follows-up Volume One: “Oi! The Albums” (AHOYBX 378), which is worth adding to your collection if it is not already with you and you can find one.

The detailed liner notes are well worth some bedtime reading too, which gives the inside story behind each of the seven albums here.

For an investment of circa £30, this is mahoosive value for money for more than 100 tracks and the background notes to each of the seven albums here.


By Graham Morrison



1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’




Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.