Reviews Zone

Glenn Hughes: Addiction – Expanded Edition (Purple Records) Out now


4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5)



Glenn Hughes aka “The Voice Of Rock”, is a man who really doesn’t need any introduction. His work as front man with Deep Purple was enough to place him in the music hall of fame, but his vocal talents go way beyond those few years.

He first came to prominence in Trapeze, a group which included future Whitesnake guitarist Mel Galley, and Judas Priest drummer, Dave Holland. Trapeze were about to break the USA when Glenn was whisked off to join Deep Purple in 1973.

He played bass and sang with Purple, joined by David Coverdale, for the albums “Burn” “Stormbringer” and “Come Taste The Band”. After they split in 1976, Glenn’s dropped solo album “Play Me Out” in 1977.

He went on to collaborate with Pat Thrall in Hughes/Thrall, Rainbow’s Joe Lynn Turner in the Hughes Turner Project, with Tony Iommi in Black Sabbath and the self-titled “Iommi” album, plus a successful solo career.

This, Glenn’s fifth solo album, was originally released in 1996, and unlike the more pop, soul and funk sounds of his previous record “Feel”, “Addiction” sees the singer returning to a much harder rocking sound. Guitarist Marc Bonilla performs, co-produces and co-wrote nine of the ten original songs.

This two CD edition includes live versions of Trapeze classics ‘Way Back To The Bone’, ‘Coast To Coast’ and ‘Your Love Is Alright’, as well as live versions of Deep Purple’s ‘Gettin’ Tighter’, ‘Stormbringer’ and ‘Burn’.

There are 26 tracks in total, 13 on each disc. The 10 of the original album, plus three live bonus tracks on CD one. Disc two is live in Holland, captured to tape on 14th July 1995. The expanded booklet features liner notes by rock writer Malcolm Dome based on new interviews with Glenn.

By Christopher Weston




1 out of 5 stars (1 / 5) ‘Dull Zone’
2 out of 5 stars (2 / 5) ‘OK Zone’
3 out of 5 stars (3 / 5) ‘Decent Zone’
4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5) ‘Super Zone’
5 out of 5 stars (5 / 5) ‘Awesome Zone’





Follow us for all the latest news!

This function has been disabled for Music Republic Magazine.